44 Days Abroad: Eight Years Later

Photo © Caribb

In a couple days I will be departing Toronto Pearson International Airport bound for Bristol International Airport. I plan on using the experience of travelling to help improve my writing. I will be visiting a laundry list of cities and countries. All of which I’ve never been to.

I have spent the entire year saving, planning, and sacrificing. I wasn’t the only one. My fiancée and I have put our future plans on hold and decided to go on this trip. We got engaged just a little over a year ago. When we met eight years ago we bonded over the idea of delaying University for a year and travelling to Europe. Neither of us truly had a clue how much money that would actually cost at the time. Each of us will likely have spent close to ten grand before the summer ends on this trip alone. Going to wedding venues and investing the time in planning a wedding makes people realize how much a wedding actually costs. It didn’t take long for either of us to let our minds wander. We began to ask ourselves, what else we could do with that kind of money? Both Rebecca and I have fantastic parents that did not use money to compensate love or attention. I am glad that my parents aren’t in a financial position to foot the bill for all my endeavours, including my desire to go to Europe when I was nineteen. I am glad that I have had to work towards things I’ve wanted in this life. I know many children and adults whose parents compensate love and attention with money and gifts. Many of these people would give back every dollar if they could just have a parent that was both active and present in their life. I do not envy these children.

If you know someone is engaged and does not openly talk about their engagement, take it is a cue that the person probably doesn’t want to talk to you about it. It might not even be personal slight against you. Being mentally prepared to get married is not the only common denominator for two people to tie the knot. Time, money, and priorities all play key factors in determining when two people tie the knot. By constantly asking questions like “have you booked a date yet?” and “where are you at with your wedding plans?” can make people feel uncomfortable. It can also strain relationships and embarrass people, especially when these questions come up in public.

Our parents won’t be paying for our wedding, not that I would want them to anyway. I believe that there is no right amount of time for an engagement. Like most things in life, it happens when it happens.

I was reminded tonight that I will be taking a total of ten flights during the entirety of the trip. Spoiler Alert, I’m afraid of heights, flying, and the sensation of falling. If nothing else this should make my blog a bit more interesting.

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

readysetwanderblog.wordpress.com/

Ready, Set, Wander | Travel Blog

The Meat & Potatoes of Life

By Lisa Smith Molinari

Broadcast from a Broody-Moody Mind

Just another moody mind brooding about trivia

Soon-To-Be Wife & Mommy

Learning to be a wonderful wife and an amazing mother, all at the same time

The Dusty Garage

A Weekend Woodworker's DIY Furniture Projects and Plans

Drill and Sander

DIY, interior design, and other house-related things

I can do that!

An optimist's guide to D.I.Y.

The WoodWorking Junkie

The WoodWorking Junkie - Not a Real Junkie :D

lauraagudelo272

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Perambulating Asia

From England to Asia, and everything in between

skumarsblogdotcom

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees,sensetonal,thrilling ,very safe.

Thoughts From The Road

Jotting it Down As I Go

My Blog

A fine WordPress.com site

Poems & People

what if poems could be symphonies, and people their orchestra?

Guide To Backpacking Through Europe | The Savvy Backpacker

How to Backpack Europe Cheap. Travel Tips, Costs, Itinerary, Routes, Packing Lists, Hostels, Eurail Passes, Planning Checklist & More

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

recollections of food

Recollections of food experiences that have helped shape my love for homely, wholesome, honest food

