SilverCity Mississauga: An Obituary Well Deserved

SIlverCity Mississauga recently shut its doors for good. The theatre was owned by the Cineplex corporation. Located at Ridgeway and Dundas on the west end of the Mississauga, Ontario. The theatre changed ownership from Famous Players to Cinexplex in 2005 when Viacom sold their theatres in Canada to Cineplex. Though, officially the name SilverCity never changed. 

On an emotional level I don’t think I’ve completely processed the lose of SilverCity. It was more than a place where I worked and earned money. It was a place of friendship, love, and rapid change. To this day I have not had a job where the tone of a workplace was so heavily set by the employees. Every month felt like a new feeling, a new emotion, and a new set of individuals. We were all growing. I remember spending the majority of my free time at the theatre, even if I wasn’t working.  It was our Mecca, our social scene. I moved three times during the course of me working at the movie theatre, and yet I can scarcely remember what two of those places I lived in looked like. I can however in vivid detail explain every square inch of that building.

The misfit theatre. Used mainly for independent films, children movies, and B list films that always under lived or over lived their life expectancy. Like loyal fans we took our loses. Win or lose. Whatever it was, it was ours. Our theatre was rarely busy, which gave us time. We had time to learn from another, time to interact, and time to discover. I think back to those days and at the time I remember thinking, “if only we get that next big film”, “if only we get more consistent films”. In my ignorance I did not realize that neighbouring theatres were busy from open to close. If our theatre had the same intensity I highly doubt our knowledge and friendships with one another would be so deep. It was in our mediocrity that we benefited.

If the movies sucked, there would always be more. We didn’t care.

Late nights, early mornings. Cold sweats. Drunken nights, hungover mornings. Scraping and saving. Wasting and splurging. Using and abusing.

The theatre gave me love in three distinct ways. First to a girl who I dated for a year. Secondly to cinema and film. Thirdly and most importantly for the opportunity to meet and date my future wife. I am grateful for all experiences, good and bad. I am also grateful for the friendships I’ve had. Some of which have transcended my time at SilverCity. For those who were part of the theatre are part of a special community. It’s something only we knew about.

Although I understand that Cineplex is a business, and profit and loss almost certainly played a huge factor in their decision to close the theatre. It still doesn’t make it any easier. In 2012 Cineplex acquired four of AMC’s theatres in Canada, which helped contribute to the over saturation of Cineplex’s brand in the General Toronto Area. The company needed to cut some fat.

If SilverCity Mississauga was seen as an unsuccessful theatre it was because of both companies stance (Famous Players and Cineplex) on using it as a bargain bin for films. In a city notoriously known for being deprived of entertainment options, I can’t help but feel as though others and not just a select few will see this as a loss. The building and land will be converted into a fitness facility. Something, which in my opinion the city does not need more of. All I can think of saying to end this post is something that I will never forget; 10-4 brother, over and out.

* * * * *

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

readysetwanderblog.wordpress.com/

Ready, Set, Wander | Travel Blog

The Meat & Potatoes of Life

By Lisa Smith Molinari

Broadcast from a Broody-Moody Mind

Just another moody mind brooding about trivia

Soon-To-Be Wife & Mommy

Learning to be a wonderful wife and an amazing mother, all at the same time

The Dusty Garage

A Weekend Woodworker's DIY Furniture Projects and Plans

Drill and Sander

DIY, interior design, and other house-related things

I can do that!

An optimist's guide to D.I.Y.

The WoodWorking Junkie

The WoodWorking Junkie - Not a Real Junkie :D

lauraagudelo272

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Perambulating Asia

From England to Asia, and everything in between

skumarsblogdotcom

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees,sensetonal,thrilling ,very safe.

Thoughts From The Road

Jotting it Down As I Go

My Blog

A fine WordPress.com site

Poems & People

what if poems could be symphonies, and people their orchestra?

Guide To Backpacking Through Europe | The Savvy Backpacker

How to Backpack Europe Cheap. Travel Tips, Costs, Itinerary, Routes, Packing Lists, Hostels, Eurail Passes, Planning Checklist & More

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

recollections of food

Recollections of food experiences that have helped shape my love for homely, wholesome, honest food

