Change Has Come

“The future is all around us, waiting, in moments of transition, to be born in moments of revelation. No one knows the shape of that future or where it will take us. We know only that it is always born in pain.” – G’Kar, Babylon 5

I feel like I’m walking a fine line in this post between blogging and writing a diary entry. I’ve been scouring through news feeds, reddit, and the blogosphere for inspiration. Unfortunately I’ve come up short. It’s been over a week since I last posted, which has slightly bothered me. I told myself I’d be a consistent blogger. Consistency is how a person gets better, but also grows their reader base.

At the same time I’ve got a laundry list of excuses why I haven’t been active. I recently was hired in a school in a semi-permanent position. I’ve also come down with a terrible flu, which I am still feeling the affects of. I think I’m on day 7 today. No end in sight. I was just whacked with a $100 bill for medicine. Thankfully my benefits should be back dated to my first day of work, and that would cover that cost.

Money and Commitments

I’ve been thinking a lot about money and commitments. I’m going to Europe in July for six weeks. The majority of the trip has been paid for, but I still need to be banking Euros and Pounds for food, activities, and other travel expenses. I’ve taken care of the various hostels, flights, and hotels I will be staying at. There’s a couple more trips and hotels to still to book. One of the big ones is London, which will make my wallet bleed. Per Hostel World’s suggestion I was looking at campus accommodations at Queen Mary, University of London. For $70 a night Canadian to get your own bed and wash-room, it sounds like a steal. I’ve stayed at various campuses throughout Canada and have an idea what to expect. It might not be a hotel, but it’s definitely a step up from sleeping in a room with 20 strangers.

The Canadian Dollar is on a downward spiral and it would be a good opportunity right now to stash away some foreign currency.

My European trip will take me to countless cities and countries. I’m thinking about blogging the experience here, or creating a secondary blog for this experience. I’m not exactly sure which would be better. I’m leaning towards using this blog to track and record my experiences, and just use the categories to help separate my writing. I’m rolling around some ideas in my head for the series. I’d love some suggestions if anyone has any.

Out of all the cities and countries I’m going to, I’m looking forward to Barcelona and Scotland the most. Barcelona, because it’s culturally rich and has some amazing beaches and galleries. Scotland is steeped in history. The history, culture, and landmarks are some of the reasons Scotland has always been on the top of my bucket list. The other reason is that my father and his family immigrated to Canada from Scotland when he was a teenager. I have never been to Scotland, so I am really looking forward to this trip. My father has spent countless hours over the years telling and re-telling the same stories about his family and his experiences growing up. Some of the stories I’ve heard many times, though I still enjoy them. I’ll be visiting Glasgow and Edinburgh, as well as some of the outlining towns. It’s an exciting time to be Scottish. The country will likely break ties with the rest of The United Kingdom in the September 18th: Independence Referendum. It’s a bit hairy right now, in terms of if and how that will all work out. Visiting a place during a moment of transition and change tends to thin the blood.

Change Has Come

I have not been able to write as much as I would like to. I landed consistent work until the end of the school year. This will further my need for stable experience to further myself in my career. It will also help me have a predictable income, which will allow me to better manage my finances. Substituting sounds amazing on paper. You get to pick and choose where and when you want to work. Sometimes there is no work, and sometimes you get too accustom to being picky with jobs and schools. Since I’ve started working in education I have not had a pay cheque that is the same as the last. It’s hard to plan out how much money you can spend each week when you have no idea what your pay is going to be. Over the past year I’ve created a list of schools I like to work at. I’m not always able to work at these schools, and sometimes I have to venture out into new territory. This has yielded positive and negative results. Every time I take a shift I don’t know where I’m going, or who I’m supporting. I feel like I’m rolling the dice. The process can wear a person down. On the positive side this process has taught me that each school is unique.

That’s it for me. I’ll be working on a few ideas over the next week. I might write a Daily Prompt or two depending on what they are.

* * * * *

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “Change Has Come”

  1. L says :

    I like this post – it sounds very honest. I wouldn’t worry about inconsistency in posting, but equally I wouldn’t bother with justifying it/ not justifying it. If you want to be consistent, then do as much as you can. It sounds like you’ve got a lot on so maybe it won’t be every day but just do as much as you can. And celebrate the posts you do write – I find that congratulating myself for something I’ve done is far more likely to spur me on to do it again, than telling myself off for not doing it enough. Keep at it 🙂

Leave a Reply

readysetwanderblog.wordpress.com/

Ready, Set, Wander | Travel Blog

The Meat & Potatoes of Life

By Lisa Smith Molinari

Broadcast from a Broody-Moody Mind

Just another moody mind brooding about trivia

Soon-To-Be Wife & Mommy

Learning to be a wonderful wife and an amazing mother, all at the same time

The Dusty Garage

A Weekend Woodworker's DIY Furniture Projects and Plans

Drill and Sander

DIY, interior design, and other house-related things

I can do that!

An optimist's guide to D.I.Y.

The WoodWorking Junkie

The WoodWorking Junkie - Not a Real Junkie :D

lauraagudelo272

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Perambulating Asia

From England to Asia, and everything in between

skumarsblogdotcom

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees,sensetonal,thrilling ,very safe.

Thoughts From The Road

Jotting it Down As I Go

My Blog

A fine WordPress.com site

Poems & People

what if poems could be symphonies, and people their orchestra?

Guide To Backpacking Through Europe | The Savvy Backpacker

How to Backpack Europe Cheap. Travel Tips, Costs, Itinerary, Routes, Packing Lists, Hostels, Eurail Passes, Planning Checklist & More

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

recollections of food

Recollections of food experiences that have helped shape my love for homely, wholesome, honest food

