We Need to Talk

I know you’re really worried for me, but you don’t need to be. Everything is going to be okay. Actually, everything has been okay for awhile now. I know you’ve heard me use the words suicide and depression. This kind of talk scares you. My intent was never to scare you.

I just wanted to let you know that it’s important to talk about these things. There was a time in my life when I was afraid to talk about them. Being able to express my thoughts and feelings saved my life. I often worry about others who can’t find the courage to talk about how they’re feeling.

I know you think that my colleagues, my friends, and family will look at me weird. I’m not afraid. I have nothing to be ashamed of. My experiences have given me the gift of empathy. It has helped me to help others. Everything is okay, and if it’s not I’ll let you know.

Love,

Ryan

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “We Need to Talk”

  1. carlagisselle says :

    This is an amazing post. Very strong and heartfelt. I’m so proud of you for not being ashamed, because there is no need to be. I equally wish more people could find the courage to speak up about how they feel. Keep this up!

  2. L says :

    This is so true. Talking is always the best thing to do. Anything to get it out, rather than keeping it in. I’ve always written a personal diary too, which helps immensely. Sometimes I go for months without writing, other times if I feel I need it, I write every day. If you’re talking to friends, family, colleagues etc too, I think its good to have more than one person who you’re comfortable sharing with. Its good to get more than one opinion on things, then you can comfortably weight it all up and make up your own mind.

Leave a Reply

readysetwanderblog.wordpress.com/

Ready, Set, Wander | Travel Blog

The Meat & Potatoes of Life

By Lisa Smith Molinari

Broadcast from a Broody-Moody Mind

Just another moody mind brooding about trivia

Soon-To-Be Wife & Mommy

Learning to be a wonderful wife and an amazing mother, all at the same time

The Dusty Garage

A Weekend Woodworker's DIY Furniture Projects and Plans

Drill and Sander

DIY, interior design, and other house-related things

I can do that!

An optimist's guide to D.I.Y.

The WoodWorking Junkie

The WoodWorking Junkie - Not a Real Junkie :D

lauraagudelo272

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Perambulating Asia

From England to Asia, and everything in between

skumarsblogdotcom

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees,sensetonal,thrilling ,very safe.

Thoughts From The Road

Jotting it Down As I Go

My Blog

A fine WordPress.com site

Poems & People

what if poems could be symphonies, and people their orchestra?

Guide To Backpacking Through Europe | The Savvy Backpacker

How to Backpack Europe Cheap. Travel Tips, Costs, Itinerary, Routes, Packing Lists, Hostels, Eurail Passes, Planning Checklist & More

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

recollections of food

Recollections of food experiences that have helped shape my love for homely, wholesome, honest food

