Diane Young. The World’s Greatest Grandmother

If you could have a guarantee that one, specific person was reading your blog, who would you want that person to be? Why? What do you want to say to them?

Photographers, artists, poets: show us ONE.

Diane was born in England and immigrated to Canada after the World War Two. She was a lively fun person who had a ferocious temper. She may have only been ninety pounds, but she could scare the living daylights out of me. She was honest and kind. Diane loved all of her children, and grandchildren. She had a tough life, and worked herself to the bone to provide for her family. She played a critical role in helping my grandfather start and run two businesses. When my grandparents split up she did not get what she had spent years working for, and in my opinion earned. Still, her character reinforced the idea that family unity is more important than money. She deserved better.

Diane was on deck when my parents split up and my mother left my father – and our home. She offered us her house, and welcomed me and my brothers with open arms.

Diane had other grandchildren, but ones that didn’t need as much love and attention as me and my brothers did. My other cousins for the most part have had parents with stable jobs and income. I don’t doubt that their families were at times more or less dysfunctional than ours. Every family has its problems. However, I can’t count the number of houses, apartments, and families we have lived with growing up on my two hands. It didn’t help that I would bounce around from one parent to the next in my teenage years. I did this both out of choice, and my parent’s frustration over having me live with them.

nanagood1

From left to right is me, my brother Andrew, my brother Sean, followed by my grandmother Diane.

When people ask me where I went to school, I usually lie and tell them one of the places I went. My school transcripts read like a bad joke. I dropped out several times, and would start at a school only to stop going a couple weeks or months later.

Hitting rock bottom wasn’t easy. I had been contemplating suicide for several years. I would go through bouts of depression and retreat inwards. It took me a long time to openly talk about this part in my life. It isn’t easy. I don’t think anyone wants to show vulnerability in front of other people.

On November 1st 2003 I was evicted from my father’s basement apartment. He packed up all my possessions and dropped me off at my mother’s doorstep. My mother refused to open the door or let me in. I sat out there for half a day wondering what I was going to do. She told me I couldn’t come back.

After several hours she came outside. She told me she would be willing to let me live with her on conditions. First, no drugs. Secondly, if I’m not in school I’m working. If I can’t follow her rules, then I’d have to go to a group home.

I was terrified. After years of pushing, I finally saw that the people who loved me most were ready to sever ties with me in order for me to change. My grandmother might have been amazing, but my mother was phenomenal. The shit I put that woman through. I couldn’t even begin to explain.

nanagood2

Above is a picture of my Diane at my mother’s wedding. 

My grandmother passed away when I was in 13. She got to see a part of me that was extremely hurt, confused, and angry. The person I am today is happy, positive, and confident. I have a drive inside of me, which for a long time didn’t exist. If there was one person I’d want to know who I am, it’s her. She deserved to me as I am, rather than as I was. Hopefully she can and does see me.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Daily Prompt: Singular Sensation
  2. Soviet Pupil | Vintage Photography
  3. Daily Prompt: Singular Sensation « cognitive reflection
  4. DP Daily Prompt: Singular Sensation | Sabethville
  5. One | Active Army Wife
  6. Daily Prompt: Singular Sensation | Under the Monkey Tree
  7. Pain in the Back? Exercise May help you not to feel it. | The Jittery Goat
  8. The One | Momma Said There’d Be Days Like This
  9. AS I PLEASE
  10. Why bother | AS I PLEASE
  11. Daily Prompt: Singular Sensation | Thoughts of an INFP
  12. Sir Terry Pratchett: Daily prompt | alienorajt
  13. The Interview: My Favorite Fictional Character | A Teacher’s Blog
  14. Singular Sensation – Terry Pratchett | L5GN
  15. Shoulder Space Available: Inquire Here | THE OVERCOMING
  16. Craving Appreciation | A mom’s blog
  17. Weekly Photo Challenge: One | LenzExperiments
  18. For her | not4faintheartsblog
  19. Daily Prompt: Singular Sensation | Your Daily Dose
  20. Behind the Curtain « Mon Cache
  21. A Mother’s Grief | Broken Light: A Photography Collective
  22. The ONE & only… | LenzExperiments
  23. One | Lisa’s Kansa Muse
  24. If I Could Guarantee These People Read My Blog
  25. Singular Sensation | Geek Ergo Sum
  26. “A fool such as I” | Hope* the happy hugger
  27. One | Purple Rosemary
  28. WHO IS FOLLOWING ME NOW? | SERENDIPITY
  29. 251. That One Reader | Barely Right of Center
  30. Daily Prompt: Singular Sensation | Incidents of a Dysfunctional Spraffer
  31. That One Person | Raspberry’s Daydreams
  32. Daily Prompt : Singular Sensation | Nicole Sloan’s Writing
  33. Waking | johnny ojanpera
  34. Daily Prompt: One | Life With Mike and Lindy
  35. To the Puppy Mill Man… | Haiku By Ku
  36. One surfer’s soliloquy | Rob’s Surf Report
  37. Daily Prompt: One | Lux
  38. Singular Sensation | Living Through My Music
  39. Singular Sensation | Saying Everything
  40. Choosing One | Flowers and Breezes
  41. of disloyal stalkers « Anawnimiss
  42. The perfect blog reader | Blog of Marvelous Things
  43. Daily Prompt: Singular Sensation | Basically Beyond Basic
  44. Daily Prompt: Singular Sensation | Ellie’s Random Blog (<3)
  45. Daily Prompt: Singular Sensation | ThisCornerOfTheWoods
  46. Singular Sensation: Tom Cruise,Will you be my Cousin? | Miss Spicy Hat N’ Sugar Socks
  47. Thoughts of a wandering drunk
  48. Singular Sensation | The Nameless One
  49. Daily Prompt: A Bathing Beauty | Daily Prompt & Blogging Progress
  50. Are You Being Stalked by a Celebrity? | An Upturned Soul
  51. Open letter | Life is great
  52. Take Me To Your Leader | Just Visiting This Planet
  53. daily prompt: singular sensatiom | aimanss…
  54. Daily Prompt: Singular Sensation | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  55. Daily Prompt: Singular Sensation | medicinalmeadows
  56. Thank you for pissing off my teenage daughter… | Vampire Maman
  57. I’m a Writer, Yes I Am
  58. Singular Sensation: The Chosen One | Khana’s Web
  59. The One Reader/Daily Prompt | I’m a Writer, Yes I Am
  60. Found out that I was sought out | heathervoid
  61. Daily Prompt: Singular Sensation | Finding Life
  62. Daily Prompt: Singular Sensation | life n me!
  63. Who would you want to read your blog? « Dancing with Fireflies
  64. A Bird in the sky | Processing the life
  65. Reaching Out – Connecting | Shrine of Hecate – Ramblings of a New Age Witch
  66. A Stitch in Time | The Silver Leaf Journal
  67. Not quite a flashy show tunes tambourine kind of evening, but could be worse… | thoughtsofrkh
  68. Daily Prompt: Singular Sensation | What a beautiful mess I’m in
  69. Insomnia equals 134 | field of thorns
  70. Daily post prompt – Singular sensation | The Wandering Poet
  71. After all you are the one…and only you | Emovere
  72. Daily Prompt: Singular Sensation | Occasional Stuff
  73. Just One | A Sober Head Full Of Confusion
  74. Daily Promp: Singular Sensation – Humble Hitchhiker | Mishe en Place
  75. S. Thomas Summers | A Novel: Sentence One
  76. Daily Prompt: Being Sensational! | All Things Cute and Beautiful
Tags: , , ,

10 responses to “Diane Young. The World’s Greatest Grandmother”

  1. znjavid says :

    That’s a wonderful story. Thanks for sharing.

  2. Ayesha (Miss Spicy Hat n' Sugar Socks) says :

    That’s a lovely story…thanks for the pingback!! 🙂

  3. Rob's Surf Report says :

    I’ve got a foot in the same boat; my dad’s mother died some time ago – mid-2000’s – and I wasn’t very stable at all. I had a home until I graduated high school, but then after that I was bouncing around a lot and I was never given a place to live for free because even my Mom wanted rent from me; I had to learn on my own how to endure life, and eventually how to thrive. Now, when I’ve got it all down, part of me really wishes my Grandma were around to see what I’ve made of myself, and my writing. I know out of everyone in my family, she would have encouraged me the most to do what I love because that’s the kind of lady she was.

    So here’s to awesome grandmas. 🙂

    • Ryan McInally says :

      Hey Rob,

      I find that there is some truth to the saying that paying your own way builds character. Maybe not for everyone, but it definitely made me appreciate the value of what things cost. A lot of people my age feel a sense of entitlement. Their parents have spoiled them and solved every problem they have ever had.

      I wouldn’t trade my outlook on life for all the easy opportunities in the world. You can buy a lot of things, but you can’t buy perspective. Our lives our made rich by the friends and family we surround ourselves with. Materialistic possessions are poor substitute for human connection.

      Age brings wisdom, which is what our grandmothers shared. Going through life makes you realize what’s important. 🙂

Leave a Reply

readysetwanderblog.wordpress.com/

Ready, Set, Wander | Travel Blog

The Meat & Potatoes of Life

By Lisa Smith Molinari

Broadcast from a Broody-Moody Mind

Just another moody mind brooding about trivia

Soon-To-Be Wife & Mommy

Learning to be a wonderful wife and an amazing mother, all at the same time

The Dusty Garage

A Weekend Woodworker's DIY Furniture Projects and Plans

Drill and Sander

DIY, interior design, and other house-related things

I can do that!

An optimist's guide to D.I.Y.

The WoodWorking Junkie

The WoodWorking Junkie - Not a Real Junkie :D

lauraagudelo272

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Perambulating Asia

From England to Asia, and everything in between

skumarsblogdotcom

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees,sensetonal,thrilling ,very safe.

Thoughts From The Road

Jotting it Down As I Go

My Blog

A fine WordPress.com site

Poems & People

what if poems could be symphonies, and people their orchestra?

Guide To Backpacking Through Europe | The Savvy Backpacker

How to Backpack Europe Cheap. Travel Tips, Costs, Itinerary, Routes, Packing Lists, Hostels, Eurail Passes, Planning Checklist & More

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

recollections of food

Recollections of food experiences that have helped shape my love for homely, wholesome, honest food

