7-Day Vegan Challenge: Day 7

It has been an interesting week. At the beginning of the challenge I was motivated, determined, and excited. As the week went on my mood began to change. I started to realize how much preparation, effort, and time would go into the meals I made.

I have a ton of respect for vegans. I see being a vegan or vegetarian as a proactive life choice. It’s not easy, and it can feel limiting at times. I don’t think it’s the act of being a vegan or vegetarian that makes you limited. It’s a lot bigger than that. I find that having alternative foods and restaurants is not always, but mainly an urban characteristic. If you live in the suburbs or a rural area, most likely you’re always going to have to make your own meals. Making your own meals is a good idea, however it’s nice to go out once in awhile. Going out and enjoying food with other people is a bit tricky based on where you go for food, and where you live.

Tracking meals, and looking up ingredients can be slightly tedious and time consuming. It’s important to know what you’re buying, and what’s in it. It’s also extremely important to know if you’re getting the right amount of vitamins and nutrients. Having a Naturopathic Doctor (ND) monitor your health is a great idea. Depending on your body and diet, you may have to take supplements.

I wish I was more proactive with my health, but I’m not. It’s something I need to work on before I can toy with the thought of ever being a vegetarian or vegan. I think what also makes it hard is that I don’t really like to cook. I’m not horrible at it, but I would much rather do other things. I don’t get a tremendous amount of enjoyment out of preparing or cooking a meal. It’s kind of sad, since I’m obsessed with food. Maybe one day I will fall in love with cooking and have a good handle on my health. When that day comes, I’ll  definitely consider being a vegetarian or vegan.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

readysetwanderblog.wordpress.com/

Ready, Set, Wander | Travel Blog

The Meat & Potatoes of Life

By Lisa Smith Molinari

Broadcast from a Broody-Moody Mind

Just another moody mind brooding about trivia

Soon-To-Be Wife & Mommy

Learning to be a wonderful wife and an amazing mother, all at the same time

The Dusty Garage

A Weekend Woodworker's DIY Furniture Projects and Plans

Drill and Sander

DIY, interior design, and other house-related things

I can do that!

An optimist's guide to D.I.Y.

The WoodWorking Junkie

The WoodWorking Junkie - Not a Real Junkie :D

lauraagudelo272

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Perambulating Asia

From England to Asia, and everything in between

skumarsblogdotcom

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees,sensetonal,thrilling ,very safe.

Thoughts From The Road

Jotting it Down As I Go

My Blog

A fine WordPress.com site

Poems & People

what if poems could be symphonies, and people their orchestra?

Guide To Backpacking Through Europe | The Savvy Backpacker

How to Backpack Europe Cheap. Travel Tips, Costs, Itinerary, Routes, Packing Lists, Hostels, Eurail Passes, Planning Checklist & More

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

recollections of food

Recollections of food experiences that have helped shape my love for homely, wholesome, honest food

