7-Day Vegan Challenge: Day 2

The second day of the challenge went well. I woke up and was extremely hungry. I decided to skip checking my fridge and cupboards and just went directly to the grocery store. Above you can see some of the items I purchased. My niece was over and she was also using our table to play with lego, thus you also get to see her awesome cruise ship.

Some of the items I bought

  • Tofu
  • Cliff Bars
  • Almond Milk
  • Coconut Milk
  • Bolthouse Farms – Vanilla Chai Tea
  • Lettuce
  • Avocados
  • Salad
  • Broccoli

There’s a couple other items you might also see in the picture.

Breakfast was good. I had a cereal mix called Love Grown, which has oats, dried fruit, coconut and various types of fruit. I used the coconut milk as a milk alternative for the cereal.

20131231_141818

To be honest, I prefer the taste of milk to the various alternatives, specifically coconut and almond.

For lunch I had hummus, olives, and soy hot dogs. It wasn’t that bad.

Dinner was fantastic! I had butternut squash soup and a vegetarian curry with coconut rice.

 

 

Things that I’ve learned so far

  1. When shopping, always have a smartphone on you. The process of shopping took a lot longer than normal. I had to google items to find out whether they are vegan or not. I knew Cliff bars were probably vegan, but I had to google to find out exactly which ones were and which ones weren’t. Try to go shopping during a time that there is less people in the store. I did my best to be mindful of others, however I got some negative looks from other shoppers because I would stop frequently to look up items.
  2. I love ketchup. I might be overdoing it a bit.
  3. Eating healthy as a vegan is cheap. Eating unhealthy is very expensive. Vegan snacks and desserts purchased from an Organic Food Aisle can cost a pretty penny. Entire stores such as Whole Foods are also not a place to shop with the expectation of saving money.
Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

readysetwanderblog.wordpress.com/

Ready, Set, Wander | Travel Blog

The Meat & Potatoes of Life

By Lisa Smith Molinari

Broadcast from a Broody-Moody Mind

Just another moody mind brooding about trivia

Soon-To-Be Wife & Mommy

Learning to be a wonderful wife and an amazing mother, all at the same time

The Dusty Garage

A Weekend Woodworker's DIY Furniture Projects and Plans

Drill and Sander

DIY, interior design, and other house-related things

I can do that!

An optimist's guide to D.I.Y.

The WoodWorking Junkie

The WoodWorking Junkie - Not a Real Junkie :D

lauraagudelo272

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Perambulating Asia

From England to Asia, and everything in between

skumarsblogdotcom

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees,sensetonal,thrilling ,very safe.

Thoughts From The Road

Jotting it Down As I Go

My Blog

A fine WordPress.com site

Poems & People

what if poems could be symphonies, and people their orchestra?

Guide To Backpacking Through Europe | The Savvy Backpacker

How to Backpack Europe Cheap. Travel Tips, Costs, Itinerary, Routes, Packing Lists, Hostels, Eurail Passes, Planning Checklist & More

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

recollections of food

Recollections of food experiences that have helped shape my love for homely, wholesome, honest food

