7-Day Vegan Challenge: Day 1

I decided today would be a great day to start something I’ve been interested in trying for a couple of weeks now. I woke up this morning and started the 7-Day Vegan Challenge!

I wanted to try the challenge out for a couple reasons; mainly to try to give myself a new perspective on what being a vegan means. I have some idea of what it’s going to entail, as I was a vegetarian for a couple years. However, I was not a very good one. In my late teens I had trouble with meal preparation and cooking at home. Unfortunately this bad habit has stayed with me into my twenties. I currently have a restricted diet of no beef, and limited amounts of pork. I mainly eat chicken as one of my staple sources of protein.

Being a vegan or vegetarian is about discipline. Even though restaurants are getting better at creating alternatives for vegans and vegetarians in their menus, I can’t rely on going out for food that often. It would also undermine the entire experience of this challenge.

I have two priorities tomorrow

  • Go through my kitchen and determine what items I have, and what items I will need to buy.
  • Go shopping

I was lucky that tonight my girlfriend and I were going out for dinner. I’ve never had Ethiopian food before, but it was something I was interested in trying. We went to Lalibella Ethiopian Restaurant near Ossington Subway Station in Toronto.

Dinner looked something like this. minus the egg.

LalibelaPlatter

I’m not sure Ethiopian food is my thing, but I probably will give it another shot. The rest of my meals today involved fruits, salad, nuts, soy, hummus, and ritz crackers. PETA has a great page called Accidentally Vegan, where they list food that was not created with the purpose to be sold or marketed as vegan. Hence why I ate a ton of Ritz crackers today. I have a weird craving for rice mellow and coconut milk. I’ll be sure to post more pictures of some of the food I eat over the next couple of days.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

readysetwanderblog.wordpress.com/

Ready, Set, Wander | Travel Blog

The Meat & Potatoes of Life

By Lisa Smith Molinari

Broadcast from a Broody-Moody Mind

Just another moody mind brooding about trivia

Soon-To-Be Wife & Mommy

Learning to be a wonderful wife and an amazing mother, all at the same time

The Dusty Garage

A Weekend Woodworker's DIY Furniture Projects and Plans

Drill and Sander

DIY, interior design, and other house-related things

I can do that!

An optimist's guide to D.I.Y.

The WoodWorking Junkie

The WoodWorking Junkie - Not a Real Junkie :D

lauraagudelo272

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Perambulating Asia

From England to Asia, and everything in between

skumarsblogdotcom

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees,sensetonal,thrilling ,very safe.

Thoughts From The Road

Jotting it Down As I Go

My Blog

A fine WordPress.com site

Poems & People

what if poems could be symphonies, and people their orchestra?

Guide To Backpacking Through Europe | The Savvy Backpacker

How to Backpack Europe Cheap. Travel Tips, Costs, Itinerary, Routes, Packing Lists, Hostels, Eurail Passes, Planning Checklist & More

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

recollections of food

Recollections of food experiences that have helped shape my love for homely, wholesome, honest food

